Magic Strikes

4345498

5/5

Book one: pretty frigging good

Book two: pretty frigging amazing

Book three:
unicorn farting rainbows photo: Unicorn farting rainbows tumblr_m5aggecT1n1r5mah4.gif

Needless to say, I loved Magic Strikes. It has made the Kate Daniels series, unless Ilona Andrews royally fucked up in the books I haven’t read… (BAHA…inconceivable), one of my favorite Urban Fantasy series of all time. This may seem like a bold statement, seeing as I haven’t read the entire series and all, but it most definitely is not – these books are that awesome!

Magic Strikes has been my favorite book overall because of the equal mix of badassery, intrigue, and sexual tension. I bought a paper copy of this book and folded over 15 pages that contained quotes I liked. 15 pages.

Because I have nothing of real value to add that hasn’t already been said about this book, I will leave you with some quotes I particularly liked:

“His Majesty needs a can-I girl anyway. And I’m not it.”
“A can-I girl?”Andrea frowned.
I leaned back. “Can I fetch you your food, your Majesty? Can I tell you how strong and mighty you are, your Majesty? Can I pick out your fleas, your Majesty? Can I kiss your ass, Your Majesty? Can I…”
It dawned on me that Raphael was sitting very still. Frozen like a statue, his gaze fixed on the point above my head.
“He’s standing behind me, isn’t he?”

He strained to say something else. I leaned toward him. He focused on me. “Rape,” he promised. “Many, many times. Until you bleed…”
“I’m so flattered.”
He raised his hand and traced a short line over my chest. “Carve out your heart…won’t cook in in the fire…eat it raw…”
We weren’t getting anywhere.

He growled, closing his eyes. “What are you doing?”
“Pulling on death’s whiskers,” I murmured…

Go forth and read this series if you haven’t already. THE HYPE IS REAL!

Leave a comment