Darkfever

81+w-cdoESL

First read: 3 stars (12/19/2013)

Second read: 4 stars (11/01/2015)

The Skinny:

Everything is idyllic in the life of Mac; she has her cute clothes, her pink nail polish, and most importantly, her family. That is, until the day she is notified of her sister’s murder. Armed with nothing but her own determination, Mac sets out to find her sister’s killer. What she ends up discovering is something that her wildest dreams could not have invented.

My Thoughts:

After finishing Darkfever the first time, I was left feeling extremely underwhelmed. It seemed that everyone…EVERYONE…loved the book. What was wrong with me? I remember thinking that Mac was silly and that Barrons was a complete ass. I just did not buy in to it all.

whats wrong with you photo: MarryPoppinsareyouill.gif

I’m happy to say, ladies and gentleman, that I enjoyed my second reading infinitely better. Mac while still frivolous, appeared less so!? Barrons, still an ass, yet also mysterious and intriguing!?

Beyond the fact that I found the characters infinitely more enjoyable this time around, I was also more caught up in the entire Fever world. The world that Moning creates is unique and exciting. Danger, in the form of various Unseelie Fae, is lurking around virtually every corner.

I also, kinda, sorta want more V’lane. He didn’t play a huge role in this book, but he certainly shook things up. What is his purpose? I need to know!

I experienced Darkfever very differently this time around, and I can say that I want more. I want to know where the Sinsar Dubh is. I want to know WHAT Barrons is. I want Mac to kick some more ass. I guess I’m greedy. Oh, well.

Overall:

I’m glad that I gave this series another shot, because my interest has been rekindled. I am hoping that book #2 follows suit and that my love affair will continue. Is it safe to say I have Fever “fever”? Only time will tell.

Leave a comment